This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
AmericanHort Retail Rising Star Award

AmericanHort Hall of Fame

Criteria for Consideration

Rare honor bestowed upon an employee of a member company (or an individual member) who has made an extraordinary lifetime contribution to AmericanHort, OFA, ANLA and/or the field of horticulture. The award is the most important honor this industry can bestow upon someone. It recognizes truly outstanding businessmen and women whose acts and deeds in business, home, community and country serve and guide as a challenge for all other members of the industry. This award is the consolidation of the ANLA Hall of Fame and the OFA Award of Excellence and is awarded as necessary.


  • Complimentary lifetime AmericanHort Individual Membership with all benefits provided at that level.
  • Recognition at Cultivate at one of the general sessions with award/plaque of recognition.
  • Name on plaque displayed at AmericanHort headquarters in Columbus.
  • Permanent listing on the website.
  • Name badge ribbon provided to wear at AmericanHort events.

Procedures for Nomination

  • Applications are due by October 1.
  • Applications will be presented to the Leadership Committee at fall meetings for consideration, screening, and comments.
  • Recommendations passed from Leadership Committee to the Board of Directors for final decision(s) at its winter meeting.
  • Requires unanimous endorsement by the Board of Directors.
  • Recipient should be a long-time AmericanHort member.
  • An AmericanHort member must make the nomination.
  • Letter of recommendation from at least three additional AmericanHort members.
  • The winners will be announced by April 1.
Year Authors
1995 Lawrence H. Bachman, Bachman’s
1996 Hugh Steavenson, Forrest Keeling Nursery
1997 John Wight, Jr., Wight Nurseries
1998 Ernest Wertheim, Wertheim, van der Ploeg, & Klemeyer
1999 Bruce Briggs, Briggs Nursery
2000 Richard J. Hutton, The Conard-Pyle Co.
2001 Dwight Hughes, Jr., Hughes Nursery and Landscaping
2002 Edward Porter, Porter Farms
2003 Fred Hicks, Hicks Nurseries
2004 Wayne Lovelace, Forrest Keeling Nursery
2005 Gordon Bailey, Jr., Bailey Nurseries, Inc.
2006 Tom Pinney, Evergreen Nursery Company
2007 Richard B. Campbell, Campbell’s Nurseries and Garden Centers, Inc.
2008 Carl J. Meyer, Horticultural Services, Inc.
2009 Gordon Hobbs, C.M. Hobbs and Sons
2010 Peter Orum, Midwest Groundcovers LLC
2011 Charles Tosovsky, Home Nursery
2012 Robert S. Lyons, Sunleaf Nursery LLP
2013 Greg Schaan, Imperial Nurseries