This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Interior Plantscape Hall of Fame

AmericanHort Interior Plantscape Hall of Fame

Criteria for Consideration
Formerly known as the PIA Interior Plantscape Hall of Fame, the award was established to honor individuals of integrity whose personal dedication provided great leadership in the development and growth of the interiorscape industry. Individuals nominated must have contributed their leadership and organizational skills for a minimum of 15 years to the development and permanent betterment of the interiorscape industry. A person may be nominated regardless of state of residence or business location. 
  • Complimentary lifetime AmericanHort Individual Membership with all benefits provided at that level, provided that they were a member of AmericanHort at least one year prior to induction.
  • Recognition during Cultivate at one of the general sessions or the Interior Plantscape Awards Celebration with award/plaque of recognition.
  • Name on plaque displayed at AmericanHort headquarters in Columbus. 
·         Permanent listing on the website. 

·         Name badge ribbon provided to wear at AmericanHort events. 

Procedures for Nomination
  • Selection is made by a temporary Hall of Fame Award Committee, consisting of 5 members including the interior plantscape community coordinator and four former inductees. 
  • Nomination deadline is January 11.
  • Nominations will be accepted from any individual or association. 
  • Nominations must be submitted physically or electronically in writing. 
  • Nominations will stay active for three years.
  • The committee will meet by phone in the winter to come to a unanimous decision. 
  • The winner(s) will be announced by April 1. 

Entry Rules can be downloaded here.

Click here for the nomination form.

Hall of Fame

1996 Allen Secrest  
1996 Robert Russell 
1997 Barbara Helfman 
1997 Frank James 
1998 Peter Herrera 
1998 Jennifer Madruga 
1998 Marvin Weitzenhoffer 
1999 Joan Archibald 
1999 Julius Roehrs 
1999 Lorie Townsend 
2000 Joe Cialone 
2000 Everett Conklin, Sr 
2000 Gerry Leider 
2001 Linnaea Newman 
2001 Richard 'Dick' Wilcox, Sr.
2001 Greg Eberly 
2002 Jeff Morey 
2002 Jean Youmans 
2002 Karl Robert Korstad 
2002 Steve McCurdy 
2003 Richard K. Wilcox, Jr. 
2003 Thomas Rochford III 
2003 Teri Pesapane 
2003 Joel Pesapane, CCLP, CCIH, CLM
2004 Dennis Gabrick
2004 Robert Herrick Carter 
2004 McRae Anderson 
2005 Steve Gainey
2005 Nancy B. Goldstein 
2005 Gary Mangum 
2006 Paul Ecke, Jr. 
2006 Richard Gaines 
2007 Alfred Emsig 
2007 Carole Horowitz 
2007 Don Horowitz 
2008 Donald Wilson
2008 Walt Campbell 
2008 Vicky Cate 
2009 Tom Acklin 
2009 Todd Bachman 
2009 Richard Parker 
2010 Bill Wolverton 
2010 Dick Ott 
2011 Dan Goldman 
2011 Karin Horn 
2011 Mike Senneff, CLP 
2012 John Peterson, Ph.D. 
2012 David Liu 
2013 John Mendozza 
2013 John Mini, CCLP 
2016 Terril Nell, Ph.D. 
2016 Janice Goodman 
2017 Chris Raimondi, CLP
2018 Kathryn O'Donnell
2018 Hollis Malone
2019 Rich Batcho, CLT
2019 Steve Decker
2019 Phil Feinman